CHPB to present annual historic preservation awards

Published on April 30, 2024

MHP Building.JPG

The Cheyenne Historic Preservation Board will present its annual Dubois Award and LeClerq Jones Award to two properties in the city for the owners’ efforts at historic preservation.

The Dubois Award will be given to Elizabeth Rader for her efforts to preserve the home at 700 E. 22nd St. This home was built in 1916 and is an example of the American Foursquare style, which was especially popular in the first part of the 20th Century. The award will be presented in a ceremony on Wednesday, May 1, at 6 p.m.

The LeClerq Jones Award will be presented to Bent 15 LLC for its work in adaptive reuse of the building at 1509 Bent Ave. This award will be presented at McGee, Hearne & Paiz, LLP’s Greater Cheyenne Chamber of Commerce Business After Hours on Thursday, May 9, at 5 p.m.

1509 Bent Ave. was built in sections in the first part of the 20th Century and was once used as an Anheuser-Busch warehouse and later retained its warehouse use and was occupied by other businesses. The recent restoration preserved many of the building’s historic elements.

- - -

The Dubois Award is presented annually for exceptionally significant preservation efforts on residential properties. It was named for William Dubois, one of the city’s premier architects of the early 1900s. This award has been renamed to honor Mr. Dubois’ grandson, William Dubois III. William Dubois was a founding member of the CHPB, and a longstanding community volunteer and philanthropist.

The LeClerq Jones Award is presented annually for commercial buildings that show exceptional preservation work, either from being maintained or through recent renovations. LeClercq Jones was president of Frontier Printing for 35 years and is most recognized for his tireless efforts in documenting Cheyenne in pictures, newspaper clippings, historic research, and oral histories.

For more information about the Cheyenne Historic Preservation Board, visit