City Council

City Council Chambers

Governing Body

The City of Cheyenne operates as a Mayor-Council form of government and is classified as a first class City pursuant to Wyoming Statutes. The Cheyenne City Council is composed of nine members elected on a non-partisan basis. Three Council persons are elected from each of the three wards established within the City and serve staggered four-year terms. At the first regularly scheduled meeting of each year, a president and vice president are elected from among Council members to serve a one-year term.

The Governing Body is comprised of all nine Council members and the Mayor, who is elected at-large for a four-year term. The Mayor is a full-time position.


The Governing Body serves as the City's legislative body, having responsibility including: 
  • Enacting ordinances
  • Approving City growth and development
  • Establishing rules and regulations
  • Appropriating funds to conduct City business